U19 World Cup
Dramatic dismissal at U19 World Cup
Proteas opener given out obstructing the field after touching stationary ball in group match against West Indies
17 January 2018, 02:05 PM AEST
A contentious umpiring decision that saw South Africa opener Jiveshan Pillay given out obstructing the field in his team's Under-19 Cricket World Cup match against the West Indies in Mount Mauganui has the cricket world talking.
Facing Windies quick Jarion Hoyte, Pillay mistimed an expansive cover drive and edged the ball into his pads.
The ball dribbled towards the stumps but stopped before hitting the woodwork.
Pillay then tapped the resting ball with his bat, picked it up and threw it to West Indies wicketkeeper and captain Emmanuel Stewart.
Stewart was then seen talking to the two standing umpires before Pillay was given out obstructing the field.
Pillay was out for 47 from 51 balls in the 17th over after being sent in by Stewart and the West Indies.
Former Australian star Lisa Sthalekar was quick to show her displeasure over what transpired.
"Can't believe what I am seeing @ICC #U19WorldCup," she tweeted.
"WI appealed for handling the ball. The ball had stopped rolling & the player picked it up."
Can't believe what I am seeing @ICC #U19WorldCup. WI appealed for handling the ball. The ball had stopped rolling & the player picked it up.— Lisa Sthalekar (@sthalekar93) January 17, 2018
According to Law 37.4 (Returning the ball to a fielder) "Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and, without the consent of a fielder, he/she uses the bat or any part of his/her person to return the ball to any fielder."
The handled the ball rule was amended last year to demarcate it more clearly from obstructing the field. Under the new law the handled the ball rule applies before the striker has "finished playing the ball", obstructing the field applies afterwards.
The Windies found themselves at the centre of controversy in the previous edition of the U19 World Cup in Bangladesh when Keemo Paul 'Mankaded' Zimbabwe's Richard Ngarava to secure a two-run win.
Paul's actions were condemned by Australia coach Darren Lehmann and former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, who called the incident "absolutely disgraceful behavior".