WNCL 2018-19

WNCL: All You Need To Know Guide

Your one-stop shop for the 50-over domestic Women's National Cricket League

Laura Jolly

20 September 2018, 09:36 AM AEST

What, where and when?

The WNCL will again be played as three mini carnivals throughout the 2018-19 summer, beginning with seven matches across three days from Friday, September 21.

A second round of matches will be played from November 9-11, with the third round to follow from February 1-3 at the conclusion of the Rebel WBBL.

After each of the seven teams has played their six opponents, the two top-ranked teams will meet in the final on February 9.

The tournament features seven teams, with matches played across Australia at Canberra’s Manuka Oval and Brisbane’s Allan Border Field – which will host T20Is between Australia and New Zealand in October – and two venues slated to host trans-Tasman ODIs in February; Adelaide’s Karen Rolton Oval and Melbourne’s Junction Oval.

Matches will also be played at suburban venues including Casey Fields (Melbourne), Blacktown (Sydney), TCA Ground (Hobart), and Bill Pippen Oval (Gold Coast). 

Meg Lanning is back after missing last summer due to injury // Getty
Meg Lanning is back after missing last summer due to injury // Getty


Some big moves were made during the off-season, most notably with Australia batter Elyse Villani returning home to Victoria after three seasons in Western Australia, while international teammate Ashleigh Gardner has returned home to NSW after a season with South Australia. In exciting news for Tasmania, New Zealand captain Amy Satterthwaite will bolster their line-up for the opening round of matches.

ACT Meteors: Samantha Bates, Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Zoe Cooke, Nicola Hancock, Clara Iemma, Hayley Jensen, Erica Kershaw, Claire Koski, Katie Mack, Matilda Lugg, Erin Osborne (c), Angela Reakes 

NSW Breakers: Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy (c), Ellyse Perry (CA contracts), Sarah Aley, Lauren Cheatle, Rene Farrell, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Mikayla Hinkley, Saskia Horley, Carly Leeson, Lauren Smith, Naomi Stalenberg, Rachel Treneman, Hannah Trethewy, Belinda Vakarewa, Tahlia Wilson

Queensland Fire: Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney (CA contracts), Jemma Barsby, Haidee Birkett, Tess Cooper, Meagan Dixon, Josie Dooley, Jess Duffin, Holly Ferling, Grace Harris, Laura Harris, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Sterre Kalis, Georgia Prestwidge, Kirby Short (c), Courtney Sippel

South Australia Scorpions: Megan Schutt (c), Amanda-Jade Wellington (CA contracts), Kelly Armstrong, Samantha Betts, Shae Daly, Eliza Doddridge, Ellie Falconer, Brooke Harris, Sarah Lowe, Tahlia McGrath, Tegan McPharlin, Annie O’Neil, Bridget Patterson, Katelyn Pope, Alex Price, Tabatha Saville

Tasmania Tigers: Stefanie Daffara, Ashley Day, Erin Fazackerley, Katelyn Fryett, Corinne Hall, Brooke Hepburn (c), Emma Manix-Geeves, Sasha Moloney, Meg Phillips, Veronica Pyke, Celeste Raack, Georgia Redmayne, Emma Thompson, Courtney Webb

Victoria: Meg Lanning (c), Sophie Molineux, Elyse Villani (CA contracts), Kristen Beams, Makinley Blows, Elly Donald, Nicole Faltum, Emma Inglis, Alana King, Courtney Neale, Rhiann O’Donnell, Chloe Rafferty, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Amy Vine, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

Western Australia Fury: Nicole Bolton (CA contract), Megan Banting, Melissa Cameron, Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Sheldyn Cooper, Bhavisha Devchand, Amy Edgar, Heather Graham, Kath Hempenstall, Ashlee King, Emma King, Tanaele Peschel, Chloe Piparo (c), Emily Smith

WNCL Final Highlights: Breakers claim WNCL crown

What happened last year?

Imposing innings by Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry steered NSW and their retiring captain Alex Blackwell to yet another one-day domestic title.

Healy's 122 from 109 deliveries and Perry's run-a-ball 96 proved the difference as the star-studded Breakers defeated a gutsy Western Australia by 51 runs in Sydney.

Featuring nine past and present Australian representatives, the unbeaten NSW side posted a formidable total of 302 on their way to a 19th title in 22-year history of the Women's National Cricket League.

What’s new?

This season, two new balls will now be used from the start of each innings.  The change sees the competition align with ICC playing conditions, and ensures Australia’s elite female players can replicate the conditions they face at international level.

Meanwhile, Tasmania have had a change of name and are no longer known as the ‘Roar’, instead they’re now the Tigers alongside their male counterparts. They also have a new coach, with Englishwoman Salliann Briggs on board replacing Julia Price.

Victoria have also adopted a new name, dropping their previous ‘VicSpirit’ moniker. Instead, they’re now known as the Victorian Women’s Cricket Team, or simply ‘Victoria’.

NSW and SA have new captains in Alyssa Healy and Megan Schutt, while WA also have a new leader following the departure of Villani, with Chloe Piparo taking the reins.

Megan Schutt is the new South Australia captain // Getty
Megan Schutt is the new South Australia captain // Getty


For full details, click HERE.

How can I follow the WNCL?

All matches will be scored live on cricket.com.au, while we'll also provide added written coverage throughout the tournament and the final will be live streamed.

What about going to a game?

Not only can you see international superstars including Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry in the WNCL, you can watch them for free in person! So get along to your nearest venue and support your state.

CommBank T20 INTLs v NZ 

September 29: First T20I, North Sydney Oval, Sydney

October 1: Second T20I, Allan Border Field, Brisbane

October 5: Third T20I, Manuka Oval, Canberra

#WatchMe - Aussie stars to light up summer of cricket