Richardson ruled out, Perth suffer double blow for Qualifier

The Scorchers will be without two of their quicks for tomorrow night's Qualifier against Sydney Sixers, with Jhye Richardson still recovering from a hamstring injury suffered earlier in the tournament

Reigning KFC BBL champions Perth Scorchers have been dealt a double blow ahead of their Qualifier final against the Sydney Sixers, with seamers Jhye Richardson and Matthew Kelly ruled out of Saturday's clash.

Richardson is still on the mend from a hamstring injury suffered against the Thunder on January 4, which has seen him miss the Scorchers last seven games.

The 26-year-old speedster had lit up the Big Bash until that point, with 15 wickets in seven games, which included being on a hat-trick three times.

It's been a tough summer for the three-Test capped right-armer after a heel injury at the start of November sidelined him until the Scorchers first match of the season on December 17.

He was still working his way back to full fitness from the heel bruising throughout BBL|12 and although he could get through four overs comfortably, he was hoping to be fully recovered by the end of the tournament for Western Australia's back-to-back Marsh Sheffield Shield push.

Just last week Richardson said he was hoping to be available for the Scorchers final match of the regular season, but he now faces a race against time to prove his fitness for next Thursday's Challenger or Saturday's Final, depending on the result tomorrow night against the Sixers.

"We feel like the depth of our squad is something that's held us in really good stead for a number of years now and this Saturday is no different," Scorchers captain Ashton Turner said.

"For someone like Jhye, who adds so much value to West Australian cricket (and) Australian cricket, there's probably a bit of a longer-term plan with someone with his skill set that he possesses and there's probably no need to take unnecessary risks.

"While we wanted him to play and we know how much value he can add to our Perth Scorchers team, the health of all of our teammates is so important and Jhye is no different and he's just hasn't got ready to play."

Kelly bloodied after unpredictable ricochet

Kelly is unavailable for selection for the Qualifier at Perth Stadium after suffering a concussion in their last match against the Melbourne Renegades last Sunday.

The 28-year-old right-armer copped a ball to the head when a throw from the outfield deflected off Aaron Finch's bat during his third over.

He left the field immediately and was subbed out of the match with concussion.

"Matt has been progressing through the concussion return to play protocols and is doing well overall. He will not be ready for tomorrow, but we are expecting him back to full training shortly after," WA Cricket State Medical Officer Dr Tom Hill said.

Adding to the Scorchers selection conundrum is that fact that spin bowling allrounder Ashton Agar is also unavailable as he gears up for Australia's four-Test Qantas Tour of India with a three-day training camp in Sydney beginning on Saturday.

However, fellow Test squad member Lance Morris is available after missing the match against the Renegades through illness.

Veteran quick Andrew Tye will play his 100th BBL match in the Qualifier, with Jason Behrendorff and English seamer David Payne rounding out a strong pace quartet.

The winner of tomorrow night's Qualifier will host the BBL|12 decider the following Saturday, February 4, while the loser will play a home Challenger final on Thursday.

It will be the Scorcher's first men's home BBL final of any kind in almost five years – and just second overall at Perth Stadium – with more than 30,000 tickets already sold for the blockbuster clash.

Scorchers squad v Sixers: Ashton Turner (c), Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Stephen Eskinazi (England), Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Lance Morris, David Payne (England), Chris Sabburg, Andrew Tye

Sixers squad v Scorchers: Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Dan Christian, Ben Dwarshuis, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Josh Kann, Hayden Kerr, Izharulhaq Naveed, Steve O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe, Lachlan Shaw, Jordan Silk, Steve Smith