Scorchers shore up local talent as Kelly signs until 2026

Just three players from the Perth Scorchers' triumphant BBL|12 squad remain out of contract for next season as the club looks to ensure their dynasty continues

Five-time KFC BBL champions the Perth Scorchers have underlined local talent as a key pillar of their success strategy with seamer Matt Kelly inking a three-year deal to remain with the club until at least 2026.

Kelly was part of the Scorchers' victory in last Saturday's BBL|12 Final – his first Big Bash triumph – collecting 2-37 after beating out leg-spinner Peter Hatzoglou for the last spot in Perth's XI.

His BBL form over the past two seasons has been outstanding (25 wickets with an economy rate of 7.73 from 14 matches) and he is the Scorchers fifth leading wicket-taker of all-time with 52, but he is often one of the first players left out when their international stars return.

But the length of the 28-year-old's deal highlights his value to their overall list strategy with much of the Scorchers' success over the first 12 editions of the competition built on their domestic depth.

The was none more evident than during their thrilling four-wicket victory over the Brisbane Heat in the BBL|12 decider with 19-year-old Cooper Connolly and full-time accountant Nick Hobson guiding them home with four balls to spare.

'Great teams win big games': Scorchers revel in latest title

Throughout their BBL|12 campaign the Scorchers relied extensively on their depth with all three overseas draft picks ruled out before the tournament began, Mitch Marsh, Jhye Richardson and Cameron Green missing through injury, and Ashton Agar and Lance Morris called up to the Australian Test squad at different stages.

"Over the last few years, everyone has been in and out a few times and Peter and I have done that numerous times," Kelly told following the Final.

"It's so unique sport … there's always going to be sacrifices that have to be made but that's how you have success.

"Just to be a part of the Final was incredible. Obviously, missing last year was disappointing but we've got such a strong team that you know sometimes you're going to miss games.

"But to be back playing in front of our home crowd, which we didn't do last year, was amazing.

"I've never heard a crowd that loud for a game of cricket, or one that I've been a part of, and we're just stoked to be playing cricket in front of the fans again."

Scorchers head coach Adam Voges said the club prided itself on their depth.

Image Id: A2B69613483A4D609BA65DAF1CFC9ED0 Image Caption: Kelly bowls during the BBL|12 Final last Saturday // Getty

"We know it's a real squad effort each and every season," he told following the final.

"We need different guys to put their hand up and stand up. We've certainly had that again this year.

"So all those names (missing), you'd love to have them around but we make sure that we've got at least some coverage for when they are away and the guys did it again (this season)."

With Morris yesterday committing to the Scorchers for another two years, and Andrew Tye and Cooper Connolly signing on ahead of the Final, it's leaves just Cameron Bancroft, Test allrouonder Green and Hatzoglou out of contract for next season.

Voges lauds Connolly and Hobson's title-winning knocks

"Our list management group does a wonderful job to try and keep the core of this group together," Voges said.

"I'm sure the other teams will come knocking but it's a group and a club that everyone who's involved in can be really proud of and I think that's what keeps people here and keeps us really competitive on the field."

Perth Scorchers list for BBL|13 (so far): Ashton Agar (BBL14), Cooper Connolly (BBL14), Aaron Hardie (BBL13), Nick Hobson (BBL13), Josh Inglis (BBL13), Matthew Kelly (BBL15), Mitch Marsh (BBL14), Lance Morris (BBL14), Jhye Richardson (BBL13), Ashton Turner (BBL14), Andrew Tye (BBL13)