An Indian crossed the line on foreign soil, the consequences were disastrous and the police acted swiftly to make an example of the culprit. But, after realising their mistake, law enforcement issued an apology to the wounded offender.
Sound like the plot of a Bollywood action film? Well, not quite.
Rather, it describes an amusing chain of events after police in the city of Jaipur erected a billboard referencing India quick Jasprit Bumrah's Champions Trophy blunder to make a point about traffic regulations.
With India heavy favourites going into last week's final of the showpiece ODI event, Bumrah gave Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman a reprieve in the fourth over of the match when the left-hander edged behind off a no-ball.
It proved a massive let-off for Fakhar, who stormed to his maiden international century as Pakistan claimed a 180-run win over their bitter rivals.
Quick Single: The prerequisite for the new India coach
Sensing parallels between Bumrah's error and the plague of car drivers ignoring road rules, Jaipur police erected the billboard showing the no-ball next to two stopped vehicles and a tag-line reading, "Don't cross the line. You know it can be costly."
The official Jaipur Traffic Police Twitter account proudly posted a picture of the billboard, prompting Bumrah to fire back, accusing them of disrespect.
Clearly disappointed, the 23-year-old also took aim on Instagram, adding, "But don't worry I won't make fun of the mistakes which you guys make at your work. (B)ecause I believe humans can make mistakes".
Bumrah's response saw the police delete their original tweet of the billboard, before stressing they hadn't meant to offend the 'inspirational' and 'iconic' Bumrah, only to educate the public of the dangers of dangerous driving.
Dear @jaspritbumrah93, our intent was not to hurt your sentiments or the sentiments of millions of cricket fans.— Traffic Police JPR (@traffic_jpr) June 23, 2017
.@jaspritbumrah93, we only intended to create more awareness about traffic rules.— Traffic Police JPR (@traffic_jpr) June 23, 2017
.@jaspritbumrah93, you are a youth icon & an inspiration for all of us.— Traffic Police JPR (@traffic_jpr) June 23, 2017
It's unknown whether the billboard is still displaying the offending image.
In his post-match column for the International Cricket Council, former India off-spinner Harbhajan Singh described Bumrah's no-ball as the turning point of the final.
"Our bowlers disappointed when it mattered the most. We didn't start too well to begin with," Harbhajan wrote.
"The crucial point of Sunday’s final at The Oval came extremely early. It was the no-ball that Jasprit Bumrah bowled that saw Fakhar Zaman being caught behind by MS Dhoni.
"The look on (captain Virat) Kohli's face said everything. Mind you, Zaman was batting on three at that time.
"Post that, he didn't need another chance. Bumrah’s no-ball incident proved to be costly as Zaman took the game away from India … This cost us immensely"
Bumrah has faced no-ball issues in the past, though he incredibly bounced back from delivering a no-ball and a wide in a Super Over while defending 12 in an Indian Premier League match for the Mumbai Indians in April.