CommBank Tour of India T20s

Aussies inflict record loss on England

Meg Lanning takes a sensational catch and posts blazing knock as Australia thrash England in Mumbai

Laura Jolly at Brabourne Stadium

28 March 2018, 06:01 PM AEST

Match wrap: Aussies thrash England ahead of tri-series final

The result: England 96 (Davidson-Richards 24, Beaumont 17; Kimmince 3-20) lost to Australia 2-97 (Perry 47no, Lanning 41no; Sciver 1-9) by eight wickets with 51 balls remaining

The match in a tweet: Stars win! Lanning and Perry flay England after a stunning display from the bowlers and in the field

The catch: Aussie captain Meg Lanning silenced any concerns about her troublesome shoulder with a superb one-handed catch to remove England dangerwoman Natalie Sciver. Lanning’s leaping hanger sent Sciver on her way for 10, the Aussie skipper looking none the worse for wear after the effort.

What shoulder injury?!? Lanning takes a hanger


The heroes: Australia’s bowlers – and fielders – piled the pressure on England from ball one to limit a team, who had just days earlier scored 199 with ease, to just 96 runs. 

After sending England in, it took just four balls for left-arm spinner Jess Jonassen to strike, removing in-form England opener Danni Wyatt – who had scored two centuries in her last three T20I innings - for six. Tammy Beaumont looked poised to continue her excellent run of form when she struck three boundaries to begin her innings, but she became the second England wicket to fall in the fourth over when she edged behind to Alyssa Healy for 17 (12). Opener Amy Jones (4) quickly following suit when she top-edged an Ellyse Perry delivery.

Sciver (10), Heather Knight (0) and Fran Wilson (11) also fell cheaply, leaving England in all sorts at 6-60 in the 11th over. And the wickets continued to tumble as England were all out for 96.

Delissa Kimmince finished an excellent four-over spell with a career-best 3-20, while Megan Schutt (2-13) and Jonassen (2-21) were the other multiple wicket-takers for Australia.

The support acts: Lanning and Ellyse Perry came together after the early wickets of Healy (6) and Elyse Villani (1) and ensured there were no further hiccups in the small chase. Lanning released any pressure that was starting to build with five consecutive boundaries in the sixth over before her sixth four took her past 2000 career T20I runs. Perry then joined in the fun with four boundaries of her own in the 10th over before she sealed victory with back-to-back fours to finish unbeaten on 47 from 32, with Lanning on a 28-ball 41no. 

The stat: Lanning’s sixth boundary brought up 2000 runs in T20I cricket, making her the first Australian, male or female, to reach the milestone. 

The other stat: The defeat was England’s heaviest in T20Is in terms of balls remaining, Australia winning in 11.3 overs 

The consolation effort: Allrounder Alice Davidson-Richards – batting for the first time in international cricket – was a rare bright spot for England, showing impressive fight before perishing on the boundary in the 16th over, out for 24.

The next stop: Australia have two days off now before the tri-series final on Saturday, while England have less than 24 hours to rest and recover before they meet hosts India on Thursday.

Australia XI: Healy, Perry, Gardner, Villani, Lanning (c), Haynes, Molineux, Kimmince, Jonassen, Schutt, Wellington

England XI: Beaumont, Davidson-Richards, Ecclestone, Farrant, Gunn, Hzell, Jones, Knight, Sciver, Wilson, Wyatt

Commonwealth Bank Tour of India

Australia T20 squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Naomi Stalenberg, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

India T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Rumeli Dhar, Mona Meshram.

England T20I squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Kate Cross, Alice Davidson-Richards, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Katie George, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Anya Shrubsole, Bryony Smith, Nat Sciver, Fran Wilson, Danni Wyatt

Warm-up match Australia beat India A by 321 runs. Report

Warm-up match Australia beat India A by seven wickets. Report

ODI series

First ODI Australia won by eight wickets. Scorecard

Second ODI Australia won by 60 runs. Scorecard

Third ODI Australia won by 97 runs. Scorecard

T20I tri-series

First T20I Australia defeated India by six wickets. Scorecard

Second T20I England defeated Australia by eight wickets. Scorecard

Third T20I England defeated India by seven wickets. Scorecard

Fourth T20I Australia defeated India by 36 runs. Scorecard

Fifth T20I Australia v England, Brabourne Stadium, March 28. Live Coverage

Sixth T20I India v England, Brabourne Stadium, March 29. Live Coverage

Final Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, March 31. Live Coverage