Prime Ministers XI v England

Willey stars, England thrash PM's XI

David Willey takes the sword to PM's XI skipper Nathan Lyon in an ominous show from the tourists


2 February 2018, 07:29 PM AEST

Match Highlights: England thrash PM's XI

Nathan Lyon has been smashed for 34 runs in one over by England's David Willey, whose all-round heroics have guided his side to a thumping T20 victory over the Prime Minister's XI in Canberra.

Fresh from a BBL stint with the Perth Scorchers, Willey opened the batting and unloaded on the Test offspinner with five consecutives sixes in Friday night's tour match at Manuka Oval.

But he couldn't get the elevation required off the final ball, slicing the PM's XI skipper through the covers for four.

David Willey takes 34 from Nathan Lyon over

It was a stylish tune-up for England ahead of their tri-series against Australia and New Zealand, as they mowed down their modest target of 137 with eight wickets in hand and 44 balls to spare.

Willey put in an outstanding performance, blasting 79 off 36 balls with six sixes and six fours after earlier claiming 3-32 with the ball.

Willey steals the show at Manuka Oval

He put on 87 for the first wicket with James Vince in a little more than six overs to take the game away from the hosts.

Willey's seventh attempt to clear the rope was his last when he was caught on the boundary by Sean Abbott off Mitchell Swepson's (2-33) bowling.

Tricky footwork catches Faulkner out

In Willey's 16 T20 internationals, he has never batted higher than seven and has come in as low as No.10.

Earlier, Peter Handscomb played a lone hand with 43 off 29 before England spinner Liam Dawson had him bowled, one of his three victims for 16 from four overs.

James Faulkner did nothing to improve his chances of a national recall, struggling for two from nine balls before being smashed for 20 runs off two overs.

The tourists' bowlers were in control for much of the PM's XI innings after Willey struck early, removing openers Nic Maddinson and Peter Nevill for eight and six respectively.

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

Australia squad: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Ben Dwarshuis, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler. 

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21