Qantas Tour of South Africa

Marsh sanctioned by ICC on day four

Australia allrounder charged after incident with Proteas quick on day four

AAP & Cricket Network

13 March 2018, 04:31 AM

Rabada banned as Proteas level the series

Mitch Marsh is the latest player to be sanctioned by the International Cricket Council during the spiteful Test series between Australia and South Africa, having given Kagiso Rabada a foul-mouthed spray after the spearhead dismissed him on day four in Port Elizabeth.

Marsh was been fined 20 per cent of his match fee and had one demerit point added to his record after being charged for a level 1 offence under 2.1.4 of the ICC's Code of Conduct that relates to "using language or gesture that is obscene, offensive or insulting during an International Match."

Second Test wrap: Proteas surge back to level series

The Australian allrounder accepted the charge after play concluded at St. George's Park and no formal hearing was required.

The television broadcast appeared to show Marsh swearing in Rabada's direction after he played on to the express paceman, who rocked the tourists in both of their innings during the second Test.

The four-Test series has been plagued by a series of ugly incidents, including two send-offs from Rabada at St George's Park.

King Kagiso finishes with 11 in SA's second Test win

Rabada's poor record means he is now set to miss the remainder of the series due to suspension after failed to overturn the charge for making physical contact with Steve Smith on day one of the contest.

The Proteas quick also gave David Warner a send-off on day three and was subsequently charged with a level 1 offence, adding another demerit point to his record and taking his total fine to 65 per cent of his match fee.

Rabada goes again with Warner send-off

Warner, Quinton de Kock and Nathan Lyon were all charged after an acrimonious first Test in Durban, which Australia won by 118 runs.

The 22-year-old Rabada has dominated Australia, claiming the fourth 10-wicket haul of his 28-Test career.

To put those numbers in perspective, the only Australians with more 10-wicket Test hauls are Clarrie Grimmett (seven), Dennis Lillee (seven) and Shane Warne (10).

Qantas tour of South Africa

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc.

Warm-up match: Australia beat South Africa A by five wickets. Report, highlights

First Test Australia won by 118 runs. Scorecard

Second Test South Africa won by six wickets. Scorecard

Third Test Newlands, Cape Town, March 22-26. Live coverage

Fourth Test Wanderers, Johannesburg, March 30-April 3. Live coverage