McCullum named cricketer of year

World Cup hero Trent Boult also honoured in New Zealand Cricket awards

Black Caps skipper Brendon McCullum has been named New Zealand's top cricketer, winning the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal.

Three days after leading his team to its first World Cup final, 33-year-old McCullum was recognised in Auckland for his outstanding 2014-15 season.

His performances included a Test double-hundred against Pakistan in Sharjah which contained the fastest century by a New Zealander.

McCullum finished 2014 by being the first New Zealander to score more than 1000 Tests runs in a calendar year.

Under his leadership, the Black Caps had their most successful Test season with five wins.

In one-day internationals, McCullum scored a century against Sri Lanka in January in the lead-up to the World Cup.

Image Id: ~/media/F9607442CE014521A3EB9EF0B805BF78

Brendon McCullum had a memorable World Cup // Getty Images  

In the tournament itself, his aggressive batting at the top of the order and his attacking captaincy were highlights.

While McCullum won the top prize at the awards evening on Wednesday, it was Kane Williamson who took away the most honours, including the Redpath Cup for first-class batting.

Williamson also won the player of the year accolades in the three categories of Tests, ODIs and Twenty20 internationals.

During the season, he scored three Test centuries, including a career-best unbeaten 241, and three ODI tons, one them as skipper in the series win over Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Quick single: Vettori unveiled as Brisbane Heat coach 

Trent Boult's coming of age of age as a swing bowler was marked by his receiving the Winsor Cup for first-class bowling.

During the World Cup, Boult took 22 wickets, a record for a New Zealander at a single tournament.

Against Australia in pool play, he snared a career-best 5-27 and he twice won man-of-the-match awards.

Late last year, he brought up his 100th Test wicket.

New Zealand Cricket Awards 2014-15 

Sir Richard Hadlee Medal: Brendon McCullum

International Women's Player of the Year: Suzie Bates

Redpath Cup (batting): Kane Williamson

Winsor Cup (bowling): Trent Boult

Twenty20 International Player of the Year: Kane Williamson

ODI Player of the Year: Kane Williamson

Test Player of the Year: Kane Williamson

Domestic Cricketer of the Year: Andrew Ellis (men), Amy Satterthwaite (women)

Bert Sutcliffe Award for outstanding services to cricket: Ross Dykes