Blackwell to lead GG's XI in Sydney clash

Australia legend to lead GG's XI against New Zealand in a 50-over match at Drummoyne Oval

Australia legend Alex Blackwell has been named skipper of the Governor-General’s XI to face New Zealand during this month’s Commonwealth Bank Women’s ODI series.

The Governor-General’s XI match – inspired by the traditional Prime Minister’s XI game – pits some of the best young female players in Australia against a touring team annually.

Now in its fourth year, this summer’s GG's XI match will be a 50-over game at Sydney’s Drummoyne Oval on February 28, played in between the second and third ODIs of the Rose Bowl series between Australia and New Zealand.

Blackwell retired from international cricket early last year as Australia’s most-capped female player, having represented her country 251 times across all three formats.

She continued to captain Sydney Thunder in this summer’s Rebel WBBL, leading her team to the semi-final, but has yet to confirm whether she’ll continue her Big Bash career in 2019-20. 

The Governor-General’s XI, featuring the next generation of stars as well as some more established players, will be selected by Cricket Australia in consultation with the Governor-General Peter Cosgrove and will be announced in the lead up to the match.

The Governor-General’s XI match will begin at 1.50pm on February 28, with entry free of charge, and for the first time will be broadcast live on Fox Cricket, with streaming available via Kayo.

Brilliant Blackwell guides Thunder home

Australia will meet New Zealand in three one-day internationals as they aim to keep their hands on the prized Rose Bowl trophy, with matches to be played at the WACA Ground (February 22), Adelaide’s Karen Rolton Oval (February 24) and Melbourne’s Junction Oval (March 3).

The White Ferns last defeated Australia in a one-day series in 1997, with Australia reclaiming the trophy in 2000 and holding it ever since.

The series will be the No.1 ranked Australian’s last hit out on home soil for the summer, with their next engagement the multi-format Ashes series in the United Kingdom in July.

CommBank ODIs v NZ 

February 22: First ODI, WACA Ground, Perth

February 24: Second ODI, Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide

March 3: Third ODI, Junction Oval, Melbourne