Boland named Shield Player of the Year

Victorians dominate list of vote-getters as Georgia Redmayne is named the best player in the WNCL

Victoria’s Scott Boland has been named the JLT Sheffield Shield’s Player of the Year, edging out state teammates Marcus Harris and Nic Maddinson as well as Tasmania’s Matthew Wade.

Boland received 15 votes from the umpires this season to finish one ahead of Harris, Maddinson and Wade on 14. Queensland’s Michael Neser and Will Pucovski tied for fifth on 12 votes.

Boland was also named the Taverners Australia Indigenous Cricketer of the Year having played a key role in the Aboriginal XI’s tour of the UK last year.

Tasmania wicketkeeper-batter Georgia Redmayne was named WNCL Player of the Year, finishing three votes ahead of Australian skipper Meg Lanning, South Australia’s Bridget Patterson and WA’s Heather Graham.

Both the men’s and women’s Tasmanian teams were also recognised by taking out the respective Spirit of Cricket Awards, while former Test quick Paul Wilson was named umpire of the year.

Boland has taken 45 wickets this Shield season at an average of 19.8 and will lead Victoria’s attack in the Shield final against NSW, starting on Thursday, as the Vics aim to win their fourth title in five years.

"Scott’s been unbelievable this year," Victoria skipper Travis Dean said on Wednesday.

Boland in seventh heaven after MCG haul

"Especially when you’re playing half your games at the MCG or Junction (Oval) on a good batting wicket, it’s a phenomenal effort.

"He worked so hard in the off-season … and it’s shown with his rewards this year."

2018-19 State Cricket Awards

Sheffield Shield Player of the Year: Scott Boland (VIC)

WNCL Player of the Year: Georgia Redmayne (TAS)

Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award: Tasmania

Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award: Tasmania

CA Umpire Award: Paul Wilson

Taverners Australia Indigenous Cricketer of the Year: Scott Boland (VIC)

Sheffield Shield Player of the Year

1 Scott Boland (VIC) – 15 votes

=2nd Marcus Harris (VIC) – 14 votes

=2nd Nic Maddinson (VIC) – 14 votes

=2nd Matthew Wade (TAS) – 14 votes

=5th Michael Neser (QLD) – 12 votes

=5th Will Pucovski (VIC) – 12 votes

Women’s National Cricket League Player of the Year

1 Georgia Redmayne (TAS) – 15 votes

=2 Meg Lanning (VIC) – 12 votes

=2 Bridget Patterson (SA) – 12 votes

=2 Heather Graham (WA) – 12 votes

5 Corinne Hall (TAS) – 11 votes