Match Report:


All-round Russell powers Knight Riders to victory

Big-hitting Jamaican shines with bat and ball to lead Kolkata to a 54-run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in their IPL clash

Andre Russell's splendid all-round performance has led Kolkata Knight Riders to a 54-run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League on Saturday.

Russell cracked an unbeaten 49 off 28 balls in Kolkata's formidable 6-177 and then took 3-22, including the key wicket of Kane Williamson off his second ball, as Hyderabad slumped to 8-123 and a fifth consecutive defeat.

Kolkata, who have lost Pat Cummins for the rest of the season after the Australian captain flew home with a hip injury, have kept alive their slim chances of reaching the playoffs.

Hyderabad need to win both their remaining games by huge margins and hope other results go in their favour to make the top four.

Kolkata made an impressive start in the batting powerplay as Ajinkya Rahane (28) and Nitish Rana (26) struck six sixes between them.

But India's new young fast-bowling sensation, Umran Malik (3-33), removed Rana and Rahane in his first over immediately after the Powerplay. Malik then had captain Shreyas Iyer caught in the deep in the next over.

Sam Billings combined in a 63-run stand with Russell, who batted deep.

The Jamaican smashed three of his four sixes in the last over off off-spinner Washington Sundar, who ended up with 0-40, which included 20 from his final six balls.

"The plan was to give Russell as much strike as possible and we were praying that he plays the last over because Washington had an over left," Shreyas said. "It worked out pretty well."

New Zealand captain Williamson's run of poor form continued for Hyderabad when he struggled for 17 deliveries before getting bowled by Russell on nine while attempting an extravagant shot as he moved across his stumps.

Abhishek Sharma top-scored with 43 and Aiden Markram made 32 but the rest of the batters couldn't cope with the pace and spin of Varun Chakravarthy.

Fit-again Umesh Yadav bowled well in the Powerplay and took 1-19, Tim Southee grabbed 2-23, and Russell returned and dismissed Sundar and Marco Jansen in the 18th over.

The 2022 Indian Premier League will be broadcast live in Australia on Fox Sports and live streamed on Kayo

Australians in IPL 2022

Delhi Capitals: Mitchell Marsh, David Warner

Gujarat Titans: Matthew Wade

Kolkata Knight Riders: Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch

Lucknow Super Giants: Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye

Mumbai Indians: Tim David, Daniel Sams, Riley Meredith

Punjab Kings: Nathan Ellis

Rajasthan Royals: Nathan Coulter-Nile

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Glenn Maxwell, Josh Hazlewood, Jason Behrendorff

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Sean Abbott