Smith becomes fastest man to 8,000 Test runs

The 32-year-old has rewritten another page in Test cricket’s record book, passing a significant milestone on day four in Lahore

Steve Smith's legacy as a Test great continues to grow. 

When Australia's number four reached seven in the second innings of the third Test against Pakistan, Smith became the fastest man to 8,000 runs, reaching the milestone in his 151st innings.

Smith eclipsed Sri Lanka legend Kumar Sangakkara, who reached the mark in his 152nd innings.

All-time great Sachin Tendulkar rounds out the podium, after the 'Little Master' brought up 8,000 Test runs in his 154th innings in 2002.

Image Id: 4C97E27FB5304FBB88F80CF83CB56F4E

Boasting an overall Test batting average of over 60 with 27 centuries, the 32-year-old Smith will have plenty more records in his sight. 

In 2019, Smith became the fastest to 7,000 Test runs in a home Test match against Pakistan.

The latest milestone for Smith comes despite a recent lean period, by his lofty standards. 

Since the 2019 Ashes series, Smith has scored just one century in his 29 innings prior to the current match in Lahore. 

Among the other Australians to pass 8,000 Test runs, Smith soared past Matthew Hayden (164 innings), Ricky Ponting (165), Michael Clarke (172), Allan Border (184) and Steve Waugh (194).

During the recently-concluded Ashes series, England captain Joe Root heralded Smith's ability to keep churning out the runs.

"Steve, I think is a brilliant problem solver," Root told cricket.com.au. "He works guys out, he learns how to master each condition and the different surfaces he comes up against.

"If you pose a plan to him, he finds a way to get through it."

Fastest players to 8,000 Test runs

151 innings - Steve Smith (Australia)

152 - Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

154 - Sachin Tendulkar (India)

157 - Garfield Sobers (West Indies)

158 - Rahul Dravid (India)

Qantas Tour of Pakistan 2022

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Zahid Mahmood.

Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

First Test: Match drawn

March 12-16: Match drawn

March 21-25: Third Test, Lahore

Pakistan ODI and T20 squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique*, Asif Afridi, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq*, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Zahid Mahmood, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Saud Shakeel*, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir (*ODIs only)

Australia ODI and T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

March 29: First ODI, Lahore

March 31: Second ODI, Lahore

April 2: Third ODI, Lahore

April 5: Only T20I, Lahore

All matches to be broadcast in Australia on Fox Cricket and Kayo Sports