Match Report:


Aussies rue late collapse as India edge fifth T20 thriller

Australia's bowlers restricted India to a chaseable total and Ben McDermott fired with the bat but team failed to chase 10 in the final over

Australia captain Matthew Wade has been left fuming at a late umpiring blunder as India secured a dramatic six-run victory in the fifth and final T20 clash in Bengaluru.

Allrounder Aaron Hardie (1-21) and spinner Tanveer Sangha (1-26) had produced strong displays with the ball as Australia restricted India to 8-160 on Sunday night (Monday AEDT).

In reply, Ben McDermott (54 off 36 balls) provided the early fireworks before Australia fell in a hole, needing 32 runs off 17 balls and with only three wickets in hand.

Wade (22 off 15) changed the equation with three consecutive boundaries off the bowling of Avesh Khan to leave Australia needing 10 runs off the final over – bowled by paceman Arshdeep Singh.

It was from there that the wheels fell off completely for Australia – in some instances through no fault of their own.

Singh's first delivery was a bouncer that clearly sailed over Wade's head.

Matthew Wade reacts after no wide was called for a final over bouncer // Sportzpics/BCCI

Wade was left incredulous – and incensed – when no wide was called by the square leg umpire, with the veteran gesturing angrily at the non-call.

The next ball was a yorker that Wade could only bunt for no run, and he holed out on the third delivery of the over when he was caught in the deep.

A Jason Behrendorff single meant Australia needed nine runs off the final two balls.

But their victory hopes were ended when the central umpire couldn't get out of the way in time when Nathan Ellis bludgeoned the fifth delivery straight back down the ground.

It meant instead of a registering a boundary, Australia could only scamper through for a single, their hopes over as they went on to finish at 8-154.

The result enabled India to wrap up a 4-1 series win.

Ben McDermott launched five sixes, including one 98m monster out of the stadium // Sportzpics/BCCI

"It's hard to wrap my head around at the moment after not being able to get us home," Wade said of the loss.

"I thought we bowled relatively well. We kept them to a total that probably should have been chased at this ground. It's pretty disappointing.

"It would have been nice to get the result tonight. I think 3-2 would have been a reflection of where the series was at.

"It would've been nice to get the result, but we keep learning, and I thought Ben McDermott bounced back, and Behrendorff, Dwarshuis and Sangha all made an impact in tough conditions."

India slumped to 4-55 after 9.1 overs before handy knocks from Shreyas Iyer (53 off 37 balls) and Axar Patel (31 off 21) lifted the home side to a defendable total.

Australian paceman Ben Dwarshuis snared 2-5 from his first two overs, but he copped some punishment from that point on to finish with 2-30.

Aaron Hardie's four overs for 1-21 included 14 dot balls // Sportzpics/BCCI

Australia's run chase started off strongly, with Travis Head (28 off 18 balls) and McDermott in the thick of the action. 

McDermott struck five sixes during his blistering knock – one of which he launched 98 metres and out of the stadium.

But each time Australia looked like they had the game in their control, a clump of wickets would follow.

Mukesh Kumar snared the scalps of Matt Short (16) and Dwarshuis (0) in consecutive deliveries as Australia crumpled to 7-129, and Wade was unable to lift the team over the line despite producing some clutch boundaries.

Axar Patel was the pick of India's bowlers with 1-14 off four overs, but Singh was the hero after conceding just three runs from the final over.

Qantas T20 Tour of India

First T20: India won by two wickets

Second T20: India won by 44 runs

Third T20: Australia won by five wickets

December 1: India won by 20 runs

December 3: India won by six runs

Australia T20 squad: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott (withdrawn), Tim David, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Chris Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (withdrawn), Glenn Maxwell (withdrawn), Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith (withdrawn), Marcus Stoinis (withdrawn), Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa (withdrawn)

India T20 squad: Suryakumar Yadav (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer (last two matches only)

All matches start 12.30am AEDT on the following date.
All matches broadcast on Fox Cricket and Kayo Sports