ICC Women's World Cup 2017

New official name for Australia women

Cricket Australia adopts a naming convention that will see its men’s and women’s international teams referred to in the same manner


7 June 2017, 12:43 PM AEST

The Australian women's cricket team will no longer be officially known as the Southern Stars in move to boost gender equality in the game.

Meg Lanning's side, who are currently ranked No.1 in the world, will instead be referred to as the Australian Women's Cricket Team in Cricket Australia communication.

The decision was announced to the current Australian Women’s World Cup squad, and members of past World Cup winning teams, at a special function in Brisbane on Saturday night.

Quick single:  Australia's unparalleled World Cup history

The evening celebrated the achievements of the teams that won in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005 and 2013.

"This move may appear symbolic, but it does carry considerable weight," Cricket Australia chairman David Peever said.

"Cricket cannot hope to be a sport for all Australians if it does not recognise the power of words, and the respect for women that sits behind such decisions."

Mr Peever said the challenge had been issued at an Australian cricket conference last year by leading businesswoman Ann Sherry.

"Ann rightly questioned whether we were walking the talk, whether we understood what it takes to be truly gender neutral, and a sport that is welcoming to women."


World Cup squad: locked in ✅ First game: June 26 v West Indies 🗓 Check out the full squad and fixture at cricket.com.au! 🏏#WWC17

A post shared by Aussie Women's Cricket Team (@southernstars) on

CA expects the Southern Stars moniker will be used colloquially, but changes will include an official renaming and new logo.

"We are not dropping the Southern Stars, a wonderful brand that our cricketers have created and which will remain as an alternative name for the team," Peever said.

"But the new naming convention demonstrates that Cricket Australia is looking at all the ways in which it operates to ensure we can meet the ambition of being a sport for all."

Social media accounts which use the Southern Stars name will remain, because of their strong following, but the official name and logo will be changed to reflect the new convention.

Australia's 15-player World Cup squad will depart for the United Kingdom on Saturday, ahead of their opening match against West Indies in Taunton on June 26.

They'll be chasing a seventh title, having won six of the 10 tournaments to date.

Women's World Cup 2017 Guide

Australia World Cup squad: Sarah Aley, Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell (vc), Nicole Bolton, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning (c), Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Belinda Vakarewa, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Squads: Every World Cup squad named so far

Australia's World Cup schedule

View the full tournament schedule here

Warm-up matches

June 20: Australia v South Africa, Oakham

June 22: Australia v Pakistan, Leicester


June 26: Australia v West Indies, Taunton

June 29: Sri Lanka v Australia, Bristol

July 2: Australia v New Zealand, Bristol

July 5: Pakistan v Australia, Leicester

July 9: England vAustralia, Bristol

July 12: Australia v India, Bristol

July 15: South Africa v Australia, Taunton

July 18: First semi-final, Bristol

July 20: Second semi-final, Derby

July 23: Final, Lord's