Magellan Ashes 2017-18

Moeen to skipper new-look England XI

Just one player from Adelaide Test to take the field for England in this weekend's two-day tour match in Perth

AAP & Cricket Network

7 December 2017, 03:28 PM AEST

Match wrap: Australia win topsy-turvy second Test

Moeen Ali will skipper a new-look England XI in a two-day tour match against a Cricket Australia XI in Perth this weekend.

Moeen is the only member of the England team which was defeated by 120 runs at Adelaide Oval on Wednesday named in the 12-player squad for the match at Richardson Park, with the other 10 Test players to enjoy a weekend off ahead of the third Magellan Ashes Test beginning next week.

Instead, England will field non-playing squad members Jake Ball, Mason Crane, Ben Foakes, Gary Ballance and Tom Curran, alongside six England Lions players who are currently in Perth at a training camp.

Crane and Ball, who was dropped after struggling in the Ashes opener, will be among those trying to impress England head coach Trevor Bayliss.

"Mo will (play), having missed a couple of games through injury," Bayliss said.

"All the reserves will play and we will grab some Lions players.

"We have to be careful not to over-analyse and make sure the guys are not just physically rested but mentally too."

The best highlights from Adelaide Test

However Bayliss is likely to stick with the same XI for the third Ashes Test, claiming they created "a few scars" for Australia to worry about in Adelaide.

England trail 2-0 in the five-Test series, meaning they will hand over the urn in if defeated in the Perth contest, but Bayliss is confident the team that suffered a 120-run loss at Adelaide Oval can still shock their hosts.

"I can't see any reason to change the team for the next Test. Woakes bowled well, as did the two experienced bowlers," Bayliss said.

"Overton bowled extremely well. He batted and fielded well too. He has a bit of fire in his belly which I like.

"Everyone has showed they have a bit of fight, they need to find it for longer.

"We have got a few scars there with the Australian team. There will be a few who have missed out and a few who will be nervous."

Lyon maintains 100 per cent record against Moeen

Paceman Craig Overton copped a painful blow to the ribs while batting on Wednesday but Bayliss suggested the debutant was in no doubt for the third Test.

"His ribs are fine. He's a big fella, it'll take more than that to slow him down."

England 12-player squad for warm-up game: Moeen Ali, Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Mason Crane, Tom Curran, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Keaton Jennings, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Liam Livingstone, Mark Wood 

2017-18 International Fixtures

Magellan Ashes Series

Australia Test squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Jackson Bird.

England Test squad: Joe Root (c), James Anderson (vc), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Mason Crane, Tom Curran, Ben Foakes, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ben Stokes, Mark Stoneman, James Vince, Chris Woakes.

First Test Australia won by 10 wickets. Scorecard

Second Test Australia won by 120 runs (Day-Night). Scorecard

Third Test WACA Ground, December 14-18. Tickets

Fourth Test MCG, December 26-30. Tickets

Fifth Test SCG, January 4-8 (Pink Test). Tickets

Gillette ODI Series v England

First ODI MCG, January 14. Tickets

Second ODI Gabba, January 19. Tickets

Third ODI SCG, January 21. Tickets

Fourth ODI Adelaide Oval, January 26. Tickets

Fifth ODI Perth Stadium, January 28. Tickets

Prime Minister's XI

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I – Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I – Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I – NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I – NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I – NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final – TBC, Eden Park, February 21