ICC World T20 - Men

ICC names WT20 Teams of the Tournament

The International Cricket Council have named teams of the tournament for both the women's and men's World T20

Cricket Network

4 April 2016, 08:15 PM AEST

Three Australians have been selected in the International Cricket Council’s Teams of the Tournament for the World Twenty20 in India.

Recently-retired allrounder Shane Watson was the only Australia player selected in the men’s side while Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars captain Meg Lanning was named at first-drop for the women's team with fast-bowler Megan Schutt also picked.

India batsman and WT20 Player of the Tournament Virat Kohli was named captain of the male side, while Stefanie Taylor, who led the West Indies to a historic win in the women’s final over the Southern Stars, was appointed skipper of the female team.

Men: Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wk), Virat Kohli (captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India), 12th: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh).

Women: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlott Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wk), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England), 12th: Anam Amin (Pakistan)

Watson played a crucial role in Australia’s unsuccessful WT20 campaign. He struck an excellent 28-ball 44 against Pakistan and was superb with the ball all tournament, picking up five wickets and the 34 year old bows out as the world's No.1 ranked T20 International allrounder.

Lanning cemented her reputation as the leading batter in women's cricket at this WT20, notching three half-centuries, two of which came in the semi-final and the final.

Schutt snared seven wickets for the tournament. With 2-15 from her four overs, the South Australian was the pick of the Stars' bowlers in their semi-final victory over England and she was named player-of-the-match against Ireland after removing three of their top-four batters.

There are five differences from the men's XI cricket.com.au selected after the Super10s stage of the tournament, with West Indies' power-hitter Chris Gayle a notable omission from the ICC side.

Jason Roy and Quinton de Kock are opening the batting for the ICC team in place of cricket.com.au's Gayle and New Zealand's Martin Guptill, while Indian captain MS Dhoni, Kiwi leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and Bangladesh quick Mustafizur Rahman (12th man in the ICC side) miss out at the expense of Windies allrounder Andre Russell, England left-armer David Willey and India fast-bowler Ashish Nehra.

ICC General Manager of Cricket Geoff Allardice was the chairman of the ICC selection panel consisting of former Windies fast-bowler Ian Bishop, ex-England Test captain Nasser Hussain, former Southern Stars players Mel Jones and Lisa Sthalekar and ex-India batsman Sanjay Mjrekar.

"The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men’s and women’s squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event," Allardice said.

"In the end, I believe the selectors have chosen two very well balanced sides which are capable of beating any opposition under any conditions."