ICC names Test and ODI teams of the year

Three Australians named in Test team of the year as Virat Kohli is named captain in both formats

Martin Smith

18 January 2018, 05:02 PM AEST

Australian David Warner has been selected in the International Cricket Council's Test and ODI teams of the year, while Indian superstar Virat Kohli has been named as the captain of both teams.

Warner is one of three Australians picked in the Test team of the year, joining his captain Steve Smith and paceman Mitchell Starc, while India and South Africa also have three players in the Test side. Kohli is joined by batsman Cheteshwar Pujara and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, while opener Dean Elgar, wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock and quick Kagiso Rabada have also earned selection.

England pair Jimmy Anderson and Ben Stokes round out the Test XI.

Australia's recent slide in one-day cricket is represented by the fact that Warner is the only Aussie in the ODI team of the year, while India again have three players in that side - Kohli, opener Rohit Sharma and paceman Jasprit Bumrah.

South Africa and Pakistan each have two representatives - AB de Villiers and de Kock for the Proteas, Babar Azam and Hasan Ali for the ICC Champions Trophy winners - while Stokes, Kiwi quick Trent Boult and Afghan spinner Rashid Khan have also been picked.

Cricket.com.au contributor Mazher Arshad was among a panel of journalists and former players who helped to pick the teams of the year.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2017

1. Dean Elgar (South Africa) 2. David Warner (Australia) 3. Virat Kohli (c) (India) 4. Steve Smith (Australia) 5. Cheteshwar Pujara (India) 6. Ben Stokes (England) 7. Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) 8. Ravichandran Ashwin (India) 9. Mitchell Starc (Australia) 10. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa) 11. James Anderson (England)

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2017

1. David Warner (Australia) 2. Rohit Sharma (India) 3. Virat Kohli (c) (India) 4. Babar Azam (Pakistan) 5. AB de Villiers (South Africa) 6. Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) 7. Ben Stokes (England) 8. Trent Boult (New Zealand) 9. Hasan Ali (Pakistan) 10. Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) 11. Jasprit Bumrah (India)