sarah coyte

Allrounders strengthen SA ranks

Former NSW Breaker Sarah Coyte one of two new players joining Scorpions' 2015-16 WNCL title bid

South Australia have bolstered their playing ranks for the 2015-16 Women’s National Cricket League season, signing Southern Star Sarah Coyte and promising allrounder Sarah Lowe.

The Breezair SA Scorpions, who made the final of the WNCL for the first time last season, will benefit from the all-round prowess of former NSW Breakers player Coyte, who is currently competing with the Southern Stars in England.

“The addition of Sarah to the squad strengthens our middle-order and her crafty medium pace adds depth to our bowling group,” Scorpions coach Andrea McCauley said.

Coyte, 24, made her WNCL debut in 2009 and spent the last five seasons with the Breakers, claiming as many titles in that time and averaging 24.36 with the bat in the one-day game.

She also claimed 44 wickets for her former side during that period, including best figures of 4-25.

In the ODI series between the Southern Stars and England last month Coyte picked up five wickets in three matches.

Quick single: Southern Stars take lead in the Ashes

Fellow allrounder Lowe secured her first Scorpions contract after impressing for Premier club Kensington last season.

Lowe, who has spent three seasons training with the group, made her Scorpions debut as a bowler in a WT20 clash against Tasmania in November 2012.

“Having made the final last season we’ll be looking to put some strong performances on the board and I’m certain that these additions will certainly help us to try and go one better this year,” McCauley said.

Lauren Ebsary will again captain the Scorpions, with wicketkeeper Tegan McPharlin promoted to vice-captain.

“Tegan has emerged as a terrific leader, showing real fight with the bat when we needed it last season,” McCauley said.

The Scorpions will begin their season on October 10 in Perth, playing a double-header against the Breakers and the Alcohol.Think Again Western Fury.

Breezair SA Scorpions 2015-16 squad: Sam Betts, Sarah Coyte, Sophie Devine, Lauren Ebsary, Sarah Lowe, Tahlia McGrath, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson, Brittany Perry, Hannah Perry, Katelyn Pope, Alex Price, Megan Schutt, Sarah Taylor, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Click above to learn more about how to stream the Ashes and more cricket