Lanning, Perry in ICC Team of the Year

Aussie stars among nine Rebel WBBL|02 players named in inaugural ICC Team of the Year

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry have been named in the first-ever International Cricket Council women's team of the year.

The pair are among nine Rebel Women's Big Bash League players included in the inaugural XI, which is captained by Windies World T20-winning skipper and Sydney Thunder star Stafanie Taylor.

Kiwi pair Suzie Bates (Scorchers) and Rachel Priest (Renegades), England's Heather Knight(Hurricanes) and Anya Shrubsole (Scorchers), West Indies allrounder Deandra Dottin (Heat) and India's Smriti Mandhana (Heat) also made the best XI, alongside Stars skipper Lanning and Sixers captain Perry.

Quick single: Women's Big Bash a ratings hit

The side was selected by a panel consisting of Australia great Mel Jones, former England captain Clare Connor and former India player Shubhangi Kulkarni, based on performances between 14 September 2015 and 20 September 2016.

During that period, Lanning scored 433 ODI runs at 61.85, including three centuries, and 339 T20 runs at 33.9.

Meg Lanning snares a classic catch

In ODIs, Perry 342 runs at 48.85 and collected 12 wickets in eight matches, while in T20s, she averaged 37.75 with the bat and took nine scalps.

Meanwhile, New Zealand captain Bates has become the first player to take out both the ODI and T20 player of the year awards in the same year.

Quick single: Catch up on all the WBBL|02 news here

Bates was the leading run-scorer in the twenty-over format during the 12 months between September 2015 and 2016, with 429 at an average of 42.90 and a strike rate of 115.

Dottin's monster hit against the Sixers

In ODIs, she scored 472 runs at 94 in eight ODIs, while also picking up eight wickets.

"It was a bit of a surprise to find out that I had won both these awards," Bates said.

"It is always nice to be recognised for performances and after a busy year of cricket, I am pleased to have managed some consistency over both formats."

ICC Women’s Team of the Year:Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand) (wk), Smriti Mandhana (India), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies) (c), Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (England), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Sune Luus (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Kim Garth (12th) (Ireland)