Voges omits pair from WA contract list

Experienced pair lose contracts at Western Australia as Adam Voges drafts in three teenagers on rookie deals

Western Australia have finalised their squad for the upcoming summer, with experienced duo Jon Wells and Will Bosisto among the noteworthy departures.

Wells moved from Tasmania to Western Australia in 2015, but failed to earn a regular spot in the Warriors JLT Sheffield Shield last summer as new coach Adam Voges blooded a host of younger players.

The 30-year-old exits Western Australia setup with three first-class centuries to his name, but will continue his career in the KFC Big Bash League with the Adelaide Strikers.

Meanwhile, Bosisto has been overlooked despite the fact he managed to score an impressive unbeaten 167 against Queensland last Shield season in a campaign that saw the 25-year-old amass 322 runs at an average north of 32.

Will powers on for marathon 167no

Bosisto represented Western Australia at Under-17 and Under-19 level and has two centuries to his name from 43 first-class appearances. He was also the inaugural captain of the Cricket Australia XI, when they took part in the domestic one-day competition in 2015-16.

Tim David, Clint Hinchliffe and Tasmania bound paceman Alex Bevilaqua are the other players who have not had their contracts renewed, with young quick Aaron Hardie rewarded for some good Futures League form and an encouraging Shield debut against Queensland by earning an elevation to the full-time contract list.

Teenagers Jayden Goodwin, Bradley Hope and Samuel Fanning have earned rookie contracts, while Nathan Coulter-Nile, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson and Marcus Stoinis remain as Cricket Australia contracted players.

Western Australia coach Adam Voges is excited by the squad he has assembled and believes he has the right mix between youth and experience at his disposal.

"We've kept the main core of the squad together which is great, and a real testament to our guys and the program we have in WA," Voges said.

"There were some good signs in the back end of our Sheffield Shield campaign so we will look to build on that, and we'd hope to go a couple of steps further in the One Day Cup this season."

Western Australia squad: Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Jake Carder, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Sam Fanning, Cameron Green, Jayden Goodwin, Liam Guthrie, Aaron Hardie, Bradley Hope, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Simon Mackin, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, David Moody, Lance Morris, Joel Paris, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, D'Arcy Short, Matthew Spoors, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman