Aussies pick same XI, tipping a similar pitch in Lahore

Australia back the same side from the drawn second Test to perform in Lahore, meaning Josh Hazlewood misses out on selection again

Australia will field an unchanged XI in the series-deciding third Test against Pakistan, starting on Monday, meaning pace star Josh Hazlewood will miss out for a second Test in a row.

Despite the short turnaround from the draining second Test in Karachi, spinners Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Swepson have been backed to be at their best despite bowling more than 50 overs each in Pakistan's second innings last week.

With similar conditions expected in Lahore from the ones seen in Rawalpindi and Karachi, there is no room again in Australia's side for Hazlewood, the world's No.10 ranked Test bowler, or Ashes hero Scott Boland, while left-arm spinner Ashton Agar has also been overlooked.

"We were really happy with how all 11 players went last Test," skipper Pat Cummins said on Sunday.

"Everyone has pulled up really well. We gave them an extra couple of days to make sure everyone has come up good. But there's no injury worries, everyone is freshened up, so we're confident in the XI.

"Only having two quick bowlers, I think reverse swing is going to be a big factor and the way Starcy played last game was fantastic.

"It's always tough leaving out someone like Joshy, even Scotty Boland. But the class and the difference Starcy brings as a left-armer, a bit more air speed, we think that's the best chance to take 20 wickets."

In a series that has seen bat dominate ball, Cummins is expecting more of the same this week based on what he's seen of the pitch at the Gaddafi Stadium.

"There's not a lot of grass on it," he said. "I think it's had quite a lot of traffic throughout the PSL (Pakistan Super League) on it as well.

"It seems hard, but I can't see it being too much different from the other ones.

"We feel like we've got all bases covered if needed, whether it's reverse swing or swing later in the game."

Despite falling just short of victory in Karachi, Cummins said Australia's dominance for most of that match was validation of their methods.

"I think what's been clear … is the way we've gone about it is the right way," he said.

"I've been really happy with how everyone has gone about their work (and) the tactics. I think it's just a matter of taking those chances.

"Wickets are at a premium in this series so you can't afford to drop too many chances. We created more than 10 chances (in the second innings in Karachi) we just unfortunately didn't take them, so that's going to be the challenge this week."

The opening two Tests of the series have been drawn, meaning a win in Lahore would seal Australia's first Test series win on Asian soil since they beat Sri Lanka 1-0 in 2011.

Australia XI: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Swepson, Nathan Lyon

Qantas Tour of Pakistan 2022

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Zahid Mahmood.

Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner. On standby: Sean Abbott, Brendan Doggett, Nic Maddinson, Matthew Renshaw

First Test: Match drawn

March 12-16: Match drawn

March 21-25: Third Test, Lahore

Pakistan ODI and T20 squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique*, Asif Afridi, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq*, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Saud Shakeel*, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir (*ODIs only)

Australia ODI and T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

March 29: First ODI, Lahore

March 31: Second ODI, Lahore

April 2: Third ODI, Lahore

April 5: Only T20I, Lahore

All matches to be broadcast in Australia on Fox Cricket and Kayo Sports