SKY lights up third T20I with blistering hundred

India won the T20I series against Sri Lanka, winning the third and final game in Rajkot by 91 runs after a match-winning unbeaten ton from Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav's unbeaten century has guided India to a 91-run victory over Sri Lanka in the third and final Twenty20 international in Rajkot as the hosts clinched the series 2-1.

Yadav made 112 not out, hitting seven fours and nine sixes in his 51-ball display on Saturday as India set Sri Lanka a target of 229 after electing to bat first.

Yadav hammered his third T20 hundred off just 45 balls, showing just why he's the world's top-ranked men's batter in the format.

In response, Sri Lanka were bowled out for 137 as Arshdeep Singh bagged three wickets, while Hardik Pandya, Umran Malik and Yuzvendra Chahal took two wickets each.

The victory came after India won the first T20 by two runs, while the second game was won by Sri Lanka by 16 runs.

Opting to bat, India lost Ishan Kishan in the first over then Rahul Tripathi scored 35 off 16 balls to give the innings momentum. Shubman Gill added 46 off 36 balls.

But the impetus changed when Yadav came to the crease. He smacked seven fours and nine sixes to demolish the Lankan bowling attack.

His race to three figures made it the second quickest ton for India after Rohit Sharma (35 balls) in 2017, also against Sri Lanka.

In all, Yadav added 111 runs off 53 balls with Gill for the third wicket.

Gill was dismissed in the 15th over while India also lost captain Hardik Pandya (4) and Deepak Hooda (4).

But it didn't matter as Yadav blew the total past 200 in 18 overs.

He became the first non-opening batsman to score three T20 hundreds, the others having come against England and New Zealand last year.

"I put pressure on myself during practice to perform in the games," Yadav said.

"I tried targeting the shorter boundaries. The coach (Rahul Dravid) lets me enjoy myself, and tells me to express myself."

Axar Patel smacked 21 not out off nine balls to seal the rampage.

Sri Lanka's reply made a speedy start as Kusal Mendis (23) and Pathum Nissanka (15) added 44 off 29 balls.

But Patel got the breakthrough to dismiss Mendis and Sri Lanka then lost wickets at regular intervals.

Captain Dasun Shanaka scored 23 off 17, including two sixes, and Dhananjaya de Silva made 22 off 14 balls, but six batters failed to hit double digits.

Arshdeep overcame his no-ball issues from the previous game and produced 3-20 from 16 balls.

The teams begin a three-match one-day international series on Tuesday in Guwahati.