WA and NSW Win 2024 National Indigenous Cricket Championships Titles

The National Indigenous Cricket Championships (NICC) reached its conclusion last night on Arrernte Country in Mparntwe (Alice Springs), with New South Wales reclaiming the women’s division title and Western Australia ending New South Wales’ four-year reign in the men’s division.  

•    Rights free images 
•    Rights free video highlights and post-match interviews 
•    Full match results available on PlayHQ

In the women’s final New South Wales defeated Queensland by 42 runs with opening batter Dharmini Chauhan top scoring with 63 runs off 51 balls, while Aimee Ravot took 3-14 off four overs.  
Chauhan was named both Player of the Finals and Player of the Series and received the award for Most Runs and Most Wickets at the NICC Awards Night held at Albrecht Oval under lights last night.   
Western Australia claimed their fourth NICC title, nine years after their first, with a five-wicket win over New South Wales in the men’s final.  
Twenty-two-year-old Brock Larance starred with the bat for Western Australia scoring 87 runs off 38 balls while Clinton Hinchliffe took 3-32 off four overs.   
Larance also had an outstanding tournament and, like Chauhan, won the Player of the Series, Player of the Finals, Most Runs and Most Wickets awards.   
In a partnership between NICC and the Melbourne Cricket Club (MCC) Foundation, a selection of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cricketers will be chosen to participate in a unique training camp at the MCG later this year.    
Cricket Australia’s General Manager, Events & Operations Joel Morrison said:   
“This week we have witnessed an excellent display of cricket with plenty of standout performances across the states. 
“Congratulations to New South Wales for taking out the women's division and to Western Australia for their win in the men’s division. 
“The NICC plays a key role in fostering connections with culture and celebrating the skills of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cricketers from across the country, and I would like to thank our partners at CommBank and the Melbourne Cricket Club Foundation for their support in bringing the event to life. 
“I would also like to thank the Northern Territory Government, Northern Territory Major Events, Alice Springs Town Council and Northern Territory Cricket for their continued support hosting the sixth NICC in Alice Springs.”  

Full list of NICC Award Winners 

Women’s Player of the Series – Dharmini Chauhan  
Men’s Player of the Series – Brock Larance  
Women’s Player of the Finals – Dharmini Chauhan 
Men’s Player of the Finals – Brock Larance 
Women’s Most Dismissals - Roxsanne Van-Veen 
Men’s Most Dismissals – Koby Jackson  
Women’s Most Wickets - Dharmini Chauhan 
Men’s Most Wickets - Brock Larance 
Women’s Most Runs - Dharmini Chauhan 
Men’s Most Runs - Brock Larance 
Women's Spirit of Cricket Award - Western Australia
Men's Spirit of Cricket Award - Queensland

Men’s Team of the Tournament 
Clinton Hinchliffe (WA) 
Kobe Ross (NSW) 
Brock Larance (WA) (C) 
Brayden Devries (TAS) 
Blake Smith (NSW) 
Ben Patterson (NSW) 
Koby Jackson (WA) (WK) 
Wade King (VIC) 
Brandon Kopper (TAS) 
Liam Connors (SA) 
Bailey Toseland (VIC) 

Women’s Team of the Tournament 
Tracee Williamson (QLD)  
Tahlia Meier (VIC) 
Anika Learoyd (NSW) (C)  
Emily Bowden (WA) 
Grace Abdy (QLD) 
Ella Hayward (VIC) 
Dharmini Chauhan (NSW) 
Callee Black (NSW) 
Roxsanne Van-Veen (NSW) (wk) 
Carys Underwood (QLD) 
Aimee Ravot (NSW)