Gillette ODI Series 2018

Carey to debut in place of ill Paine

Paine joins Hazlewood on the sidelines, with Carey and potentially Richardson to debut

Louis Cameron

19 January 2018, 12:48 PM AEST

Carey, Richardson receive their ODI caps

Wicketkeeper Alex Carey will become Australia's 223rd one-day international player after Tim Paine was ruled out of the second Gillette ODI against England due to illness.

Paine has been hit by a gastro bug and a team spokesperson confirmed on Friday the Tasmanian would not take his place in Australia's XI for the match at the Gabba.

Carey is set to make his international debut having struck a match-winning century for Adelaide Strikers in the KFC Big Bash League on Wednesday.

Carey crunches rapid century for the Strikers

Fast bowler Jhye Richardson could make his ODI debut alongside Carey, with Josh Hazlewood also set to miss the match through illness and Pat Cummins to be rested.

Only Hobart Hurricanes opener D'Arcy Short has scored more runs in BBL|07 than Carey, with his 368 runs coming at 61.33.

The 26-year-old also struck his maiden first-class century for South Australia last month, posting 139 against Queensland in their JLT Sheffield Shield match in Cairns.

Last summer Carey broke the all-time Sheffield Shield dismissals record, effecting 59 dismissals to surpass Wade Seccombe's mark of 58 set in 2000-01.

Earlier in the summer, Carey had also been touted as a bolter for the Magellan Ashes before Paine's eventual selection.

Finch confident of Australia's depth

"He's taken his game to another level," Australia ODI opener Aaron Finch said on Thursday.

"He showed a lot of promise in Shield cricket over the last couple of years, and then to come out this year when there was a lot of talk about the Ashes 'keeping spot, and who was going to play.

"The way that he put his hand up and has continued to do so for such a young guy is really impressive."

Australia are down 0-1 in the ODI series after England won the series-opener at the MCG on Sunday. Friday's match at the Gabba begins at 1.20pm local time (2.20pm AEDT).

Richardson, a skiddy paceman from Western Australia, made his T20 International debut for Australia last summer against Sri Lanka. The right-armer was the player of the match in last season’s BBL final for champions Perth Scorchers.

Richardson handed his T20 cap in Geelong

Hazlewood and Paine are the latest players to be struck down by illness in recent weeks, joining David Warner, Steve Smith and Patrick Cummins as well as England captain Joe Root and batsman James Vince.

Cummins and Smith both had an upset stomach during the fourth Magellan Ashes Test in Melbourne, minor complaints that didn't significantly hamper their performances.

Warner too was ruled fit to play the first ODI despite not taking part in the lead-in training sessions due to illness.

Root was so sick during the fifth Test in Sydney that he was hospitalised due to severe dehydration after the fourth day of the match. He bravely left his hospital bed on day five to resume his innings, posting a half-century before his condition became too much for him and he retired his innings.

As Australia completed a victory that handed them a 4-0 series win, Root was asleep in the dressing-rooms.

2017-18 International Fixtures

Gillette ODI Series v England

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Cameron White, Adam Zampa.

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

First ODI England won by five wickets at the MCG.

Second ODI Gabba, January 19. Tickets

Third ODI SCG, January 21. Tickets

Fourth ODI Adelaide Oval, January 26. Tickets

Fifth ODI Perth Stadium, January 28. Tickets

Prime Minister's XI

PM's XI v England Manuka Oval, February 2. Tickets

Gillette T20 trans-Tasman Tri-Series

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Mark Wood.

First T20I Australia v NZ, SCG, February 3. Tickets

Second T20I Australia v England, Blundstone Arena, February 7. Tickets

Third T20I Australia v England, MCG, February 10. Tickets

Fourth T20I NZ v England, Wellington, February 14

Fifth T20I NZ v Australia, Eden Park, February 16

Sixth T20I NZ v England, Seddon Park, February 18

Final TBC, Eden Park, February 21