India v Australia ODIs

Healy scores first international century

The Australia veteran was at her brilliant best for her country in the third ODI against India

Laura Jolly at Reliance Stadium, Vadodara

18 March 2018, 05:09 PM AEST

Healy smashes first international century

Wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy has smashed her maiden international century in Australia’s third and final one-day international against India in Vadodara.

In a knock that was eight years in the making, opener Healy struggled to find her feet early – as she had done in the second ODI when she was dismissed for a 37-ball 19 – but on this occasion the fiery batter resisted the temptation to hit out in frustration.

After working her way to 7 from 16, the NSW star found her groove in the eighth over of the Australian innings with two boundaries and a six, bringing up her half-century from 47 deliveries.

Handed lives on 27 and again on 58 – both times on the boundary and both times by Mona Meshram – Healy capitalised, playing all around the ground as she first passed her previous highest ODI score, 71, and her highest international score, 90, before reaching triple figures from 94 deliveries.

Healy was eventually dismissed for 133, with her 115-ball knock featuring 17 boundaries and two sixes.

It was the first century by a female Australian wicketkeeper and the highest individual score against India.

The century comes in her 58th ODI for Australia and follows what’s been a successful nine months in the green and gold for Healy.

The 27-year-old scored just her second one-day half-century – and her first since 2012 - against Pakistan during the World Cup last July.

Perry, Healy late flurry powers Aussies to 290

Elevated to the top of the order alongside Nicole Bolton for the Ashes last October, Healy posted back-to-back half centuries, before starting the current series against India on a promising note with a 29-ball 38. 

Speaking after that first knock, Healy said she was starting to find her feet in the subcontinent conditions.

“I was a little bit loose at times but it was nice to get out there and spend a bit of time in the middle,” Healy said on Tuesday.

“I was a little bit nervous heading out there because I haven’t faced too many of the Indian bowlers before, so it was good for me to get out there and get some experience in these conditions.”

Commonwealth Bank Tour of India

Australia ODI squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicole Bolton, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Belinda Vakarewa, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Australia T20 squad: Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Naomi Stalenberg, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

India ODI squad: Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Smriti Mandhana, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Sushma Verma, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Sukanya Parida, Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma

India T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Rumeli Dhar, Mona Meshram.


England T20I squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Kate Cross, Alice Davidson-Richards, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Katie George, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Anya Shrubsole, Bryony Smith, Nat Sciver, Fran Wilson, Danni Wyatt

Warm-up match Australia beat India A by 321 runs. Report

Warm-up match Australia beat India A by seven wickets. Report

ODI series

First ODI Australia won by eight wickets Scorecard

Second ODI Australia won by 60 runs Scorecard 

Third ODI Reliance Stadium, Vadodara, March 18

T20I tri-series

First T20I Australia v India, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, March 22

Second T20I Australia v England, Brabourne Stadium, March 23

Third T20I India v England, Brabourne Stadium, March 25

Fourth T20I Australia v India, Brabourne Stadium, March 26

Fifth T20I Australia v England, Brabourne Stadium, March 28

Sixth T20I India v England, Brabourne Stadium, March 29

Final Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, March 31