Ashes venues revealed for 2023

The England and Wales Cricket Board lock in the venues for the 2023 Ashes

AAP & Cricket Network

15 February 2018, 07:24 AM AEST

The England and Wales Cricket Board has awarded the 2023 Ashes Tests between England and Australia to the same five grounds as the 2019 edition.

Edgbaston, Headingley, The Oval, Lord's and Manchester's Old Trafford have all got the nod as the grounds to be used in five years' time, as the ECB locked in its venues for all three formats for international men's matches between 2020-24.

The Ageas Bowl in Southampton was widely expected to be named as one of the five hosts, but it joins the Sophia Gardens in Cardiff and Nottinghamshire's Trent Bridge - which both hosted Ashes Tests in 2015, the last time Australia toured - as the conspicuous absentees.

Trent Bridge will host Test matches in 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2024 but will not stage an Ashes Test in either of the next two series.

The absence of Trent Bridge from the list of hosts for the next two editions of the Ashes in the UK means Australia can avoid reliving the events of August 6, 2015, when they were dismissed for 60 in little more than an hour and a half at the venue as Stuart Broad took 8-15. 

They have much happier recent memories of Lord's and The Oval, where they claimed Test victories in 2015.

Australia last played an Ashes Test at Old Trafford in 2013, the match ending in a rain-affected draw, while Headingly hasn't featured in the Ashes since 2009.

Meanwhile, Trent Bridge will take over from Lord's as the venue for the domestic one-day cup final from 2020, the ECB has confirmed.

Gloucestershire, Durham, Glamorgan and Hampshire will all host England one-day internationals at their grounds throughout the five-year period, with the latter two also set to stage T20 internationals.

The ECB also named the host grounds for their new city-based T20 competition, which will begin in 2020 and run alongside the existing county-based T20 competition. New teams will be created around the venues - Southampton's Ageas Bowl, Edgbaston, Headingly, The Oval, Lord's, Old Trafford, Sophia Gardens and Trent Bridge - in a tournament featuring 36 games across 38 days.