Qantas Tour of Zimbabwe

Australia set for Zimbabwe tour

New-look Australia set to face hosts and Pakistan in seven-match tri-series in July

Cricket Network

10 April 2018, 11:54 PM AEST

Australia will tour Zimbabwe for the first time since 2014 in July, with the dates for the T20I tri-series confirmed today. 

The Australians will take on the hosts and Pakistan in the 20-over format, their first-ever T20I matches in Zimbabwe, with Pakistan then staying on for a five-match ODI series. 

The triangular series will be played at Harare Sports Club in the capital, while Bulawayo’s Queens Sports Club will host the ODI series.

“Following months of negotiations, we are pleased to confirm we will be hosting a T20I triangular series involving Australia and Pakistan, followed by an ODI series against Pakistan,” Zimbabwe Cricket Managing Director Faisal Hasnain said.

“Playing two of the game’s biggest teams will provide us with a very welcome litmus test as we forge ahead with our plans to develop a stronger Zimbabwe side capable of consistently competing and winning against the best.”

Australia's time in Harare will be preceded by a five-match ODI series and one-off T20I against England in the UK from June 13-28. 

That tour will see a new-look Australia team unveiled, with a new coach, captain and vice-captain taking charge after the ball-tampering controversy in South Africa led to the suspensions of Steve Smith and David Warner, and ultimately the resignation of then coach Darren Lehmann. 

Cricket Australia will announce it's 2018-19 male player contract list tomorrow (Wednesday). 

Zimbabwe meanwhile, have been dealing with their own controversy, after the Zimbabwe Cricket Board sacked the national men's team's entire coaching staff, as well as convener of selectors Tatenda Taibu, following their failure to qualify for next year's 50-over World Cup. 

T20I tri-series in Zimbabwe

Sunday, July 1: Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

Monday, July 2: Pakistan vs Australia

Tuesday, July 3: Australia vs Zimbabwe

Wednesday, July 4: Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

Thursday, July 5: Pakistan vs Australia

Friday, July 6: Australia vs Zimbabwe

Sunday, July 8: Final