Global T20 Canada

Warner set to return to captaincy

Banned Australian batsman to take over as skipper of his side in Canadian T20 league

Cricket Network

4 July 2018, 10:53 AM AEST

David Warner is set to have the 'c' next to his name again, despite being banned for life from holding a leadership position in Australian cricket.

Warner is set to take over the captaincy of the Winnipeg Hawks in the Global T20 league in Canada after West Indian Dwayne Bravo pulled out of the remainder of the tournament.

Warner burnt, Smith misses out in Canada clash

Warner, formerly Australia's Test and ODI vice-captain and a regular skipper of the T20 side in recent years, was prohibited from holding any future Australian leadership position as part of his punishment from Cricket Australia for his role in the Cape Town ball-tampering saga.

His former captain Steve Smith copped a similar leadership ban, but only for two years.

But Pakistan legend Waqar Younis, the coach of the Winnipeg side, says he has no issue with naming Warner skipper for the T20 tournament in Toronto.

"I’m sure he’s going to be a good leader when it comes to captaincy," Younis told News Corp.

"(Warner) is a leader. He’s a team man. I’ve seen him in IPL and I’ve seen him as a leader. He’s up there, he’s upfront and he likes to give whatever his knowledge is, he’s always there."

Warner saluted, Russell takes flight in Canada T20

It was announced on Wednesday that Bravo, who captained the Hawks in their first three matches, would not take any further part in the tournament, although the reason for his early departure was unspecified. He has been replaced in the squad by Pakistan spinner Imad Wasim, who las month was ruled out of the current T20 international tri-series in Zimbabwe due to injury.

Warner enjoyed plenty of success in his brief stints as captain of Australia and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL; he led the Sunrisers to the 2016 IPL title and his only loss from 12 limited-overs internationals as captain was a rain-reduced T20 in India last year.

His T20 teammates praised the 31-year-old's leadership style during their unbeaten tri-series campaign in February, with allrounder Marcus Stoinis labelling Warner "really calm (and) quite unemotional".

"He gives a lot of the responsibility to the bowlers ... and then if things don’t go your way he moves on pretty quickly," Stoinis said.

"You don’t feel too much pressure out there, it’s just 'this is the plan, if it doesn’t work let’s readjust and go again'."

Warner fails with the bat, shines in the field

Warner has had a disappointing Global T20 tournament with the bat so far, scoring just six runs in three innings, but his side currently lead the way with two wins from three games.

The Hawks will be in action again early on Friday morning (AEST).

Global T20 Canada

28 June - 15 July: Click here for the complete schedule

Toronto Nationals: Darren Sammy (c), Steve Smith, Kieron Pollard, Kamran Akmal, Hussain Talat, Rumman Raees, Nikhil Dutta, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Farhan Malik, Usama Mir, Rohan Mustafa, Nitish Kumar, Nizakat Khan, Mohammad Umair, Anton Devcich, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Naveed.

Montreal Tigers: Lasith Malinga (c), Sunil Narine, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Hafeez, Denesh Ramdin, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, George Worker, Najibullah Zadran, Cecil Pervez, Ibrahim Khaleel, Dillon Heyliger, Nicholas Kirton, Rayyan Pathan, Dwayne Smith, Moises Henriques, Peter Siddle, Kevon Cooper.

Edmonton Royals: Shahid Afridi (c), Luke Ronchi, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Christiaan Jonker, Wayne Parnell, Asif Ali, Hasan Khan, Agha Salman, Shaiman Anwar, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Ahmed Raza, Abraash Khan, Ammar Khalid, Simon Pervez, Umar Akmal, Farhaan Behardien, Andre Fletcher.

Vancouver Knights: Chris Gayle (c), Andre Russell, Evin Lewis, Tim Southee, Chadwick Walton, Fawad Ahmed, Babar Hayat, Sheldon Cottrell, Saad Bin Zafar, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Srimantha Wijeratne, Kamau Leverock, Steven Jacobs, Salman Nazar, Rassie van der Dussen , Jeremy Gordon.

Winnipeg Hawks: David Miller, David Warner, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Ben McDermott, Ali Khan, Hamza Tariq, Junaid Siddique, Tion Webster, Rizwan Cheema, Hiral Patel, Mark Deyal, Kyle Phillip, Imad Wasim

Cricket West Indies 'B' Team: Anthony Bramble (c), Fabian Allen, Alick Athanaze, Roland Cato, Justin Greaves, Derval Green, Kavem Hodge, Brandon King, Jeremiah Louis, Obed McCoy, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Sherfane Rutherford, Shamar Springer.