Qantas Tour of South Africa

Warner quits IPL captaincy

Besieged Australian opener has given up the mantle as captain of his IPL franchise amid ball tampering furore

Sam Ferris in Johannesburg

28 March 2018, 02:00 PM AEST

UPDATE: David Warner and Steve Smith have both been banned from this year's IPL, with their $2.4 million contracts torn up. More HERE

David Warner has stood down from the captaincy of his Indian Premier League club, Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Warner follows in the footsteps of Steve Smith, who stood down as skipper of the Rajasthan Royals for the upcoming season.

Both players are on IPL contracts worth A$2.4million as the highest-paid Australian players in the lucrative tournament.

Warner's decision comes off the back of the 31-year-old's involvement in the ball tampering sandal in Cape Town that has seen him suspended for the fourth Test in Johannesburg and sent home from South Africa.

"In light of recent events, David Warner has stepped down as captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad. The new captain of the Team will be announced shortly," said the team's chief executive, K.Shanmugam.

Warner was Hyderbad's leading run-scorer in 2017 and guided his side to the title in 2016.

The left-hander is the tournament's all-time fifth-highest run-scorer and the most prolific overseas batsman in the competition's 10-year history.

With CA yet to issue its sanctions, Sunrisers mentor and India legend VVS Laxman said yesterday the franchise would take its time before commenting about Warner's future in Hyderabad.

"It's very unfortunate what has happened in the Cape Town Test," Laxman told PTI.

"As far as Sunrisers is concerned, it's too early for us to comment.

"Because, it was, just which has happened day before yesterday. We will wait for decision of Cricket Australia.

Laxman added: "The information available at the moment is very limited."

"So, we will wait for further information. If at all, the need be, then we will discuss about that.

"As far as Warner is concerned, he has been an exceptional leader for Sunrisers group."

Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland announced on Tuesday that the internal investigation into the ball tampering incident found Warner to be one of three players involved in planning to alter the condition of the ball on day three of the third Test at Newlands.

"Earlier today I received an update about the investigation being conducted by our Head of Integrity Iain Roy, and in conducting his interviews he was accompanied by two ICC integrity officers.

"While that investigation is not complete, preliminary findings have been considered and discussed by the CA board earlier today.

"The key finding is that prior knowledge of the ball tampering incident was limited to three players: Captain Steve Smith, vice-captain David Warner and Cameron Bancroft.

"No other players or support staff had prior knowledge and this includes Darren Lehmann who despite inaccurate media reports, has not resigned from his position.

"He will continue to coach the Australian men's team under his current contract."

CA is set to hand down further sanctions today.

Qantas tour of South Africa

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Dean Elgar, Heinrich Klaasen, Quinton de Kock, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Duanne Olivier, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, AB de Villiers.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc.

Warm-up match: Australia beat South Africa A by five wickets. Report, highlights

First Test Australia won by 118 runs. Scorecard

Second Test South Africa won by six wickets. Scorecard

Third Test South Africa won by 322 runs. Scorecard

Fourth Test Wanderers, Johannesburg, March 30-April 3. Live coverage