Bancroft, Turner help Scorchers prevail

Cameron Bancroft and Ashton Turner hit half centuries as the Scorchers picked up their third victory of BBL|08

AAP & Cricket Network

14 January 2019, 01:02 AM AEST

Scorchers overpower Sixers at home

Half centuries to Cameron Bancroft and Ashton Turner helped the Perth Scorchers defeat the Sydney Sixers by seven wickets on Sunday night.

Bancroft carried his bat for an unbeaten 87, while Turner contributed a quickfire 60 as the Scorchers chased down the Sixers' score of 5-177 with seven balls remaining at Optus Stadium.

Brilliant Bancroft carries bat in Perth

A controlled Bancroft hit eight fours and one six during his 61-ball stay, while a more aggressive Turner cleared the rope on three occasions during his entertaining cameo.

Moises Henriques shuffled his bowlers around during the run chase in an attempt to find a valuable breakthrough, but Bancroft and Hilton Cartwright (1no) ensured the Scorcher prevailed.

The Sixers were asked to bat first by Turner and amassed 5-177 in a spirited batting performance.

Tremendous Turner smashes Sixers

It was a strong showing from the outset from the Sixers with a 42-run opening stand between Daniel Hughes (36 from 29 balls) and Jack Edwards (17 from 15).

James Vince, coming in to replace fellow Englishman Joe Denly, scored a solid 28 as well before being trapped leg before by Matt Kelly.

Henriques was looking superb on his way to 38 in 21 balls with four fours and two sixes before being caught and bowled by AJ Tye.

But Josh Philippe (19 from 9) and Tom Curran (12 from 7) finished the innings well, taking 27 from the last two overs.

Legspinner Usman Qadir was the pick of the Scorchers bowlers with 1-28 in four overs despite cutting himself on the spikes of his boots in celebration after catching Hughes off his own bowling.


Scorchers XI: Michael Klinger, Cameron Bancroft (wk), Ashton Turner (c), Hilton Cartwright, Sam Whiteman, Cameron Green, Nathan Coulter-Nile, David Willey, Andrew Tye, Matt Kelly, Usman Qadir

Sixers XI: James Vince, Jack Edwards, Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques (c), Jordan Silk, Josh Philippe (wk), Tom Curran, Sean Abbott, Steve O'Keefe, Ben Dwarshuis, Ben Manenti