WNCL 2016

Scorpions, Breakers launch WNCL season

A grand final replay will kick-start a busy two months for Australia's top women's cricketers this WNCL season

Laura Jolly

19 July 2016, 09:00 AM

The Women's National Cricket League will be launched by a grand final rematch between South Australia and New South Wales this summer.

The Breezair SA Scorpions will meet the Lend Lease NSW Breakers on October 13 at the Gabba to launch the women's domestic one-day competition's 21st season.

Quick Single: Matador Cup scheduled revealed

The WNCL will again be played in a carnival-style format throughout October and November.

Related: View all the summer's domestic fixtures here

With a 50-over Women's World Cup to be held in England next year, there will be added incentive for the nation's top players to impress this summer, while the tournament will also help players prepare for the second season of the Women's Big Bash League, which begins on December 10.

Scorpions win first WNCL title, snap NSW streak

The 2016 season features 23 matches across four weekends, starting with nine matches in four days across in Brisbane and Perth and culminating in the final on December 3.

The tournament will also feature three day-night matches, to be played at Blundstone Arena (October 28 and 29) and Manuka Oval (October 30).

Quick single: Scorpions sign former England skipper

South Australia will be aiming to win their second title in a row this summer, having spoiled the Breakers' bid for an 11th straight title last summer.

"The Women’s National Cricket League is entering its 21st season and will continue to be a proving ground for elite cricketers from the around the country as well as providing preparation for the highly anticipated second season of the WBBL," Cricket Australia’s Executive General Manager Team Performance Pat Howard said.

"We firmly believe we have a strong structure to our domestic competitions which identifies and elevates players who are performing, so that we can continue to strive for success on the international stage."

Quick Single: 2016-17 Sheffield Shield fixtures

WNCL squads 2016-17

SA Scorpions squad:  Sam Betts, Sarah Coyte, Jordan Doecke, Charlotte Edwards, Brooke Harris, Sarah Lowe, Tahlia McGrath, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson, Brittany Perry, Katelyn Pope, Alex Price, Megan Schutt, Amanda-Jade Wellington

ACT Meteors: Lily Bardsley, Samantha Bates, Kris Britt, Kira Churchland, Jodie Fields, Nicole Goodwin, Nicola Hancock, Jodie Hicks, Claire Koski, Emily Leys, Katie Mack, Rebecca Maher, Erin Osborne, Angela Reakes

Queensland Fire: Delissa Kimmince (c), Jemma Barsby, Holly Ferling, Grace Harris, Courtney Hill, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Jessica Jonassen, Bethany Mooney, Kara Sutherland, Kirby Short, Georgia Prestwidge, Haidee Birkett, Taylah Brotherston, Tess Cooper

Tasmania Roar: Erin Burns, Katelyn Fryett, Corrine Hall, Brooke Hepburn, Julie Hunter, Erin Lawler, Sasha Moloney, Meg Phillips, Veronica Pyke, Celeste Raack, Georgia Redmayne, Emma Thompson (two spots to be finalised)

VicSpirit: Kristen Beams, Makinley Blows, Hayleigh Brennan, Jess Cameron, Sarah Elliott, Emma Inglis, Hayley Jensen, Emma Kearney, Alana King, Kirsty Lamb, Meg Lanning (c), Anna Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Molly Strano

Western Fury: Nicole Bolton, Elyse Villani, Megan Banting, Emma Biss, Melissa Cameron, Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Bhavi Devchand, Heather Graham, Katie Hartshorn, Emma King, Chloe Piparo (two spots to be finalised)

NSW Breakers have yet to name their 2016-17 squad.

Meg Lanning Steve Smith