Stoinis to make international debut

Victoria allrounder named alongside Cameron Boyce in Australia's XI for T20 against England

Victorian allrounder Marcus Stoinis will make his international debut in Tuesday morning’s one-off T20 against England in Cardiff.

Stoinis was named in Australia’s XI by stand-in skipper Steve Smith today and is the second debutant in as many matches for the tourists after Joe Burns won his maiden one-day international cap against Ireland on Thursday.

Hailing from Perth, Stoinis made his first-class and one-day debut for Western Australia in 2009, and played three games for KFC Big Bash League club Perth Scorchers in BBL|02.

Glenn Maxwell meets Marcus Stoinis

Inconsistent performances in the west saw the 26-year-old lose his state contract, prompting a move east to Melbourne in 2011 and second chance with the Victorian Bushrangers.

Since then the broad-shouldered Stoinis has played in all formats for his adopted state, scoring an impressive 170 against Tasmania in March 2014, and is a key member of the Melbourne Stars this summer.

A breakthrough Sheffield Shield season last summer yielded 785 runs at 49 and earned Stoinis selection on the four-day Australia A tour of India last month, where he made 77 and claimed 2-18 in the opening match in Chennai.

Image Id: ~/media/2C2B2617407E4B5FA6C13DA97C4681A9

Stoinis with fellow allrounder Shane Watson // cricket.com.au

A hard-hitting batsman and clever fast-medium right-armer, Stoinis was a member of Australia’s Under-19 squad alongside current Australian players Smith, James Faulkner, James Pattinson and Josh Hazlewood.

"I played in the Under-19 World Cup with Stoinis in Malaysia ... and he's certainly come a long way," Smith said.

"He’s improved every year, he’s thrown up good performances first of all for WA then moving over to Victoria it was a big move for him. He’s put the numbers on the board and thoroughly deserves an opportunity here tomorrow."

Stoinis will line-up alongside T20 specialist spinner Cameron Boyce and nine players from the ODI in Belfast.

The match will get underway at midnight AEST on Tuesday.

Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Steve Smith (c), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Cameron Boyce